Interested in auditioning?

We are excited that you are interested in applying for one of the GDYO ensembles. Our program consists of two full orchestras, three string orchestras, a wind ensemble, a flute choir, and our newest offering: GDYO Jazz.  Our season begins at the end of August and runs through the end of May.
To make the process as user-friendly as possible, please follow the steps below to walk you through everything you need and finish by filling out the online application form.

Special Note about Jazz: Due to our audition and placement process, you must choose to audition for either GDYO Jazz or the Orchestral Program (all other ensembles).  You cannot audition for both.  Please read the program descriptions and the audition information carefully before making your decision.  Please contact us if you have any questions.

The fee for applying is $30 (nonrefundable).

Woodwinds, Brass, Piano – application due Saturday, March 9

Jazz – application due Monday, April 22

Strings, Percussion, Harp – application due Saturday, March 30

Applications must be received on or before the due date, otherwise a $10 late fee will be added to your application fee (and any audition date/time requests may not be able to be accommodated):


You will be assigned one of these audition days. You can indicate conflicts on the application form, and we will do our best to accommodate. 

Flute Wednesday, March 20 (6pm – 9pm)
Thursday, March 28 (6:30pm – 9:30pm)
Saxophone,Euphonium and Piano Wednesday, March 20 (6pm – 9pm)
All other Winds and Brass Saturday, March 23 (9am – 6pm)
Wednesday, March 27 (4:30pm – 9:30pm)
Thursday, March 28 (4:30pm – 6:30pm)
Thursday, April 4 (4:30pm – 9:30pm)
Strings Wednesday, April 10 (4:30pm – 9:30pm)
Thursday, April 11 (4:30pm – 9:30pm)
Friday, April 12 (4:30pm – 9:30pm)
Saturday, April 13 (9am – 6pm)
Wednesday, April 17 (4:30pm – 9:30pm)
Wednesday, April 24 (4:30pm – 9:30pm)
Thursday, April 25 (4:30pm – 9:30pm)
Percussion and Harp Saturday, April 13 (8:30am – 12:00pm)
GDYO Jazz Friday, May 3 (5pm – 9pm)
Saturday, May 4 (9am – 2pm)

Applications must be received on or before the due date, otherwise a $10 late fee will be added to your application fee (and any audition date/time requests may not be able to be accommodated): If you have any questions, please contact the GDYO office at 214-528-7747 or email us at auditions@gdyo.org.