Print

Auditions

We are no longer accepting Orchestral audition applications for Strings, Flute, Percussion, Harp. If you have any questions, please contact the office at: 214-528-7747

Interested in auditioning?

We are excited that you are interested in applying for one of the GDYO ensembles. The program consists of two full orchestras, three string orchestras, a wind ensemble, a flute choir, and nine jazz combos.  We want to make the process as user-friendly as possible. Please follow the steps below to walk you through the GDYO audition process and finish by filling out the online application form.

Special Note about Jazz: Due to our audition and placement process, you must choose to audition for either the Jazz Institute or choose to audition for the large ensembles.  You cannot do both.  Please read the program descriptions and the audition information carefully before making your decision.  And feel free to contact us if you have any questions. (for jazz: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.)

The fee for applying is $25 (nonrefundable).

FLUTES, STRINGS, PERCUSSION, HARP — March 9, 2015 application due

WINDS (NOT FLUTES), BRASS — March 30, 2015 application due

Jazz Institute — March 30, 2015 application due


You will be assigned one of these audition days. You can indicate conflicts on the application form, and we will do our best to accommodate.

Strings   Saturday, March 21 (9am – 6pm)
    Monday, March 23 (5pm – 9pm)
    Wednesday, March 25 (5pm – 9pm)
    Thursday, March 26 (5pm – 9pm)
    Thursday, April 2 (5pm – 9pm)
    Monday, April 6 (5pm – 9pm)
    Wednesday, April 8 (5pm – 9pm)
     
Percussion and Harp   Thursday, March 26 (5pm – 9pm)
     
Flutes   Monday, March 30 (6pm – 9pm)
    Thursday, April 9 (6pm – 9pm)
     
Saxophone and Euphonium   Thursday, April 9 (6pm – 9pm)
     
All other Winds and Brass   Saturday, April 11 (9am – 4:30pm)
    Wednesday, April 15 (5pm – 9pm)
    Monday, April 20 (5pm – 9pm)
    Wednesday, April 22 (5pm – 9pm)
    Saturday, April 25 (9am – 8pm)
     
Jazz Institute   Monday, April 13 (5pm – 9pm)
    Saturday, April 18 (9am – 5pm)
    Monday, April 20 (5pm – 9pm)

Applications must be received by the due date, otherwise a $10 late fee will be added to your application fee (and any audition date/time requests may not be able to be accommodated):

If you have any questions, please contact the GDYO office at 214-528-7747 or email us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..
(For Jazz specific questions, please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.)

If you need to submit your application by mail rather than this website, you will need to download and print an
application and mail it to the GDYO office: 3630 Harry Hines Boulevard, Dallas, TX, 75219. (Click Here)

TACA TCA OCA